Are all the Bitx version fundamentally the same?

Robert AG6LK

Hello All,

I’m new to the uBitx scene. I’m contemplating buying a v6. My question is are all the versions basically the same? The reason I ask is that there are a lot of mod articles written for v3, v4 and v5. Can these mods also be used for v6? I appreciate all of the time everyone puts into helping each other on this forum. Thanks in advance for you answers.

Robert, AG6LK

Jack, W8TEE

Robert:

I think you will find that mods to V6 are so marked in the post that makes a mod. You should also look at the posts on ubitx.net. There's a lot of useful information there, too.

Jack, W8TEE

On Thursday, March 11, 2021, 4:06:13 PM EST, Robert AG6LK <amrmedic@...> wrote:

Hello All,

I’m new to the uBitx scene. I’m contemplating buying a v6. My question is are all the versions basically the same? The reason I ask is that there are a lot of mod articles written for v3, v4 and v5. Can these mods also be used for v6? I appreciate all of the time everyone puts into helping each other on this forum. Thanks in advance for you answers.

Robert, AG6LK

--
Jack, W8TEE

Evan Hand

Robert,

The 4 µBITX models that come from HFSignals have basically the same design, so most improvement mods do work with the v6.  One modification path, KD8CEC mods, will not work with the stock v6 display.  There is a 2.8" Nextion display that can be made to fit in the v6 case.  With that hardware addition, the other modifications along that line can be made to it.

Because there are slight variations in the versions, some adaptation may be required to make it work.  One example is the Kit Parts AGC requires another resistor and a different tie-in point but the main circuit board mounts in the same place with the same performance.  There are similar examples for other mods.  I am not aware of any enhancement type of mod that does not work.  Some, like the external relay modification to solve the v3 and v4 harmonic issues, are not required.