Topics

Swapping Nano's

hickmodawg@...

I’m quite new at this, so please be patient.  I haven't done much with Arduinos yet, but I'm learning...

I assembled my uBITx v.5 and it seems to work OK.  I'm quite happy about that!  It has the stock screen that came with the kit and the stock firmware.  I have two questions:

1. Exactly what do I changes in the CEC Firmware v. 1.2 should I make before uploading it in order for it to run properly on my stock Ver.5 uBITX?  I've read Ian's thread from 2 April 2019, but I want to get this exactly right.  I am not sure exactly how to make the changes I need in order to use my stock display or how to tell the firmware I'm using a Ver. 5 Board. in my uBITx. 

Which display do I select and exactly what characters do I delete or add in front of the display's name in order to select it? 

For the my Ver. 5 Board, do I simply type a "5" at the end of the line reading:
"#define UBITX_BOARD_VERSION?"  Is there a space between the "VERSION" and the "5?'

2. I have a spare Arduino Nano.  Can I upload the CEC v. 1.2  firmware to the spare and plug it into the radio and use it, then unplug it and re-insert the original Nano with the stock firmware back in, and use it too?  I mean, can I swap out Arduinos with different Firmware and still expect the radio to perform normally?

Thanks,

Martin, AJ6CL

Evan Hand

To answer your second question first, yes you can use a second Nano to program and keep the first as originally received.  There are issues that need to be taken into consideration.
1 - The calibration data is stored on the eeprom of the Nano, which is not saved in the CEC software.  You will need to calibrate before it will work correctly, especially the BFO setting. 
2 - The CEC software is different for each display, and the original software only works with the original display.  That would mean that you need to change the Nano AND the display if you do not use the original display version of the CEC software