Topics

Ubitx will be here tomorrow. Any suggestions for a Bitx newbie #ubitx

N5KBP

I took the plung and ordered the Ubitx last Thursday. It will be delivered tomorrow.  Any suggestions for must have mods? I am a newbie to the bitx world but have had a little experience with the Arduino Uno and Nextian displays. I am stealing a 3.5 basic nextion from another arduino project (A digital display for a couple of boatanchor rigs I own, I switched out the TN1638 7 segment displays since the look more retro). I have downloaded the latest KD8CEC htm files and installed them on the nextion and it looks good. I have also ordered some Nano's to have around and plan on using 1 for the new KD8CEC AGC/spectral display expansion to his nextion firmware. 
Thanks in advance
Marty
--
N5KBP

Doug W

It is exciting to think about and plan mods.  Do yourself a favor, get it working completely stock first.  That way if anything does not work you have less to troubleshoot.
--
www.bitxmap.com

Kevin Rea

yes, one suggestion...
build it stock first, get it working. then do mods.

kevin
k6rea

EI_Frank

Don't do the Tune Up Calibration unless you absolutely have to.

W7PEA

Use the Groups wiki site... https://groups.io/g/BITX20/wiki/home  and make corrections and additions if you feel its needed. 

And what they said, build it vanilla first.

Enjoy, its a fun rig,
W7PEA | Patrick

ajparent1/KB1GMX

ITs been said but I will repeat.

Build it first and test.  Insure you have the 4.7K in place on the key jack.  Double check wiring.

If you are bench testing before boxing it.  Use care to avoid accidental shorts or wires touching
the wrong thing and outside events like ESD (carpet static!).  One example seen was taped to
a piece of card board to keep everything from moving around, worked well too.

Use 13.8 volts for testing as its likely a V4 board (discrete transistor audio amp).

If all goes well you may want mods and to pick out what your box is to look like.

Good luck!

Allison

Truffies