Re: Highlighting band selected

Jeff Debes

Bill,
I feel that your comments were at least in some part targeted at me and therefore warrant an answer.
People are almost as varied in personality and in desires as nature is itself .
One should not should presume or judge anything about another persons knowledge level or what that person has contributed to ham radio or to any worthy aspect of society.
Ham radio as a hobby is now more varied in interests and reasons for interest in the hobby than ever. ( and that is a good thing! )
No question is wrong, no judgements should be presumed about those asking questions. That will just turn people away.
Snobbery of knowledge of a particular subject include this hobby is simply wrong.
Yes , you ( we all) often feel that everyone should dive into ham radio.
But I try to be a generalist, not an top expert in anything but looking at the big picture.
In profession, I was a Systems Engineer at Xerox Corp. Now retired . I am as you probably already know , an Extra Class ham op , first licensed as a Novice in 1963 , call sign WN2RHU. My other hobbies are varied and include hiking /Mt climbing. Climbed the 46 high peaks.
Spent many years as a mentor in First Robotics , etc etc
So wrap up :
On this DL , no question or even complaint is ill founded . Let’s not judge people .
Yes, people can look things up , and learn .
Some will, but some will just want to get to the goal of a working radio.
Expressions of frustration by questions are simply symptoms of some issues that may need to be fixed in by HFSigs or answered amiably without judgement by knowledgable people in this group.
If the same questions come up more than once, it would beg of the need for change /improvement to product, group response, or documentation access.

Jeff

On May 28, 2020, at 1:00 PM, Bill Cromwell <wrcromwell@...> wrote:

Hi,