question on resources for adults

I'm vague on these things and am hoping people here will have more knowledge.

I got an e-mail:

Hello, Sandra. I am so happy to have found your site and your abundance of ideas.

I am a middle-aged man, did not enjoy my public school experience from nursery-school onward, and was a poor student through high school.

After years of occupational floundering, I am now a college sophomore at a state university and doing very well academically, but again feeling disillusioned by conventional, institutional curriculum and faculty which seem mostly oriented toward enforcing/rewarding rote procedure.

While I genuinely value this opportunity and where it may lead, it ultimately feels lacking in actual education (no matter how heavy the workload).

I understand this is not exactly what you address, but do you have any "un-schooling" advice for adults, how to make the most of such a context, or constructive alternatives to augment this experience with either parallel studies or unfamiliar perspectives? Are there online communities which address these interests and concerns?

Thank you for your time, and for your site.

I don't think there are yet, but probably will be someday. I think there are some colleges that will give credit for outside experiences, but i really don't know which ones they are. I've heard stories over the years.

-=-I understand this is not exactly what you address, but do you have any "un-schooling" advice for adults, how to make the most of such a context, or constructive alternatives to augment this experience with either parallel studies or unfamiliar perspectives?-=-